The Romanian Society of Palaeontologists (SPR) was founded in 1994 through the unanimous agreement of scientists working in the field of Palaeontology from the Geological Institute of Romania, University of Bucharest, University of Cluj-Napoca and University of Iasi. The SPR has three branches developed around the main universities centres of Romania: 
– The Bucharest SPR Branch: with members from University of Bucharest (UB), Geological Institute of Romania (IGR) and Geological National Museum, National Research and Development Institute for Marine Geology and Geoecology (GeoEcoMar), Institute of Speleology Emil Racovita, Petroleum-Gas University of Ploie ti, Natural Sciences Museum of Barcelona, OMV-Petrom.
– The Cluj-Napoca Branch: with members from Babe -Bolyai University of Cluj-Napoca, Technical University of Cluj-Napoca, University of Craiova, University College of London, Institute of Biological Research Cluj-Napoca, Geological Institute of Romania (IGR), The Museum of Natural History – Brukenthal National Museum Sibiu, Tarii Crisurilor Museum Oradea, Museum of Iron Gates Region-Drobeta-Turnu Severin, Museum of Oltenia-Craiova, Constantin Brancoveanu High School-Horezu, Szekler Resources Ltd.- Sfantu Gheorghe, Salt Mine DURGAU S.A. Turda 
– The Iasi Branch: with members from Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iasi, Stefan cel Mare University of Suceava, Academy of Science of Moldova, Babes-Bolyai University of Cluj-Napoca, Saudi Aramco.
The SPR members are represented by professional palaeontologists working in universities, high schools, research institutes, museums, industry companies, natural protected areas, retired professionals, undergraduate and graduate students, master and PhD students, post-doctoral students, as well as avocational palaeontologists, from Romania but also from other countries. 

In 1997 Prof. Dr. Ovidiu Dragastan organized in Bucharest the First Romanian Symposium on Palaeontology by the collaboration of the Romanian Society of Palaeontologists and of the Laboratory of Palaeontology, Department of Geology and Palaeontology, University of Bucharest.
Since then, the Romanian Society of Palaeontologists in collaboration with research and academic institutions from Romania, organise biennial meetings aimed to promote the collaboration between scientists working in the wider field of Palaeontology as well as in related research areas represented by Stratigraphy, Sedimentology, Palaeobiogeography, Palaeoecology, Basin Analysis, Geoheritage and Geoconservation. The SPR meetings represent excellent opportunities for scientists working in these fields to share their research experience and share results, to discuss different topics of interest, and to initiate collaborative projects. During the years, the biennial meetings of the SPR became International Meetings, with participants from all over Europe but also from other continents.

PAST Presidents of the Romanian Society of Palaeontologists:

1994-1997     Florian Marinescu (Geological Institute of Romania, Bucharest)
1997-2000    Emil Avram (Geological Institute of Romania, Bucharest)
2000-2005   Ioan I. Bucur (Babe -Bolyai University, Cluj-Napoca)
2005-2009   Leornard Olaru (Alexandru Ioan Cuza University, Iasi)
2009-2013   Mihaela C. Melinte-Dobrinescu (Research and Development Institute for Marine Geology and Geoecology, GeoEcoMar, Bucharest)
2013-2015    Mihai Branzila (Alexandru Ioan Cuza University, Iasi)
2015-2017    Iuliana Lazar (University of Bucharest)
2017-2019    Iuliana Lazar (University of Bucharest)
2019-2021    Iuliana Lazar (University of Bucharest)
2021-2023    Viorel Ionesi (Alexandru Ioan Cuza University, Iasi)

Managed by Immediate JFusion